Support

Filling In Family Medical History with FUTURA GENETICS

“I have been given this product as part of a product review through the Chronic Illness Bloggers (http://chronicillnessbloggers.com/chronic-illness-bloggers/) network. Although the product was a gift, all opinions in this review remain my own and I was in now way influenced by the company. ”

I desperately needed my family medical history and felt that there was no way to do it until out of the blue I was contacted my the chronic illness bloggers with the opportunity to review Futura Genetics.

Futura Genetics offers something far more valuable than knowing my uncle on my mother’s side had Alzheimer’s.

They offer an easy DNA test kit mailed directly to your home.  All you have to do is spit in the tube and wait for the courier to pick it up.  From there it is whisked away to the lab where it is tested to reveal your likelihood for 28 common medical conditions.

logo-futura-genetics-small

This is a dream come true for those who cannot answer family medical history questions.

I feel like that might come across as dramatic but believe me there is nothing overly dramatic about family medical history when you are burying babies with no understanding of why or where to start looking because your DNA is an enigma.

This is hands-down the best thing I have ever been able to review.

Not only do they tell you your probability of developing 28 common diseases, they also tell you the lifestyle choices that you need to make to decrease your risk.  This is valuable information for people facing chronic illness that makes them more susceptible to developing other or overlapping diseases.

            

It’s as easy as 1-2-3.  I ordered my DNA test kit and it arrived with clear instructions to spit into the tube, shake it, and reseal it. After which I simply requested a courier pick up and began the process of waiting for results.  It was simple.  The hardest part was waiting for the results to come in!

Once I was notified that my results were ready I sat down with Mr. Autoimmune Mess with all the drama of a reality television show big reveal to read them.

 

I’d like to share some of the amazing results of my test so you can imagine just how useful this information is to me.

bt-test-dna_bIFqb8W

First of all, no surprise here but I have a high risk of developing lupus.  Mixed connective tissue disease is the step-sister of lupus.  Do you realize how differently I would have approached my healthcare six years ago when I was looking for a diagnosis if I had known that?  Can you imagine how much more willing my doctors would have been to do simple blood tests for anti-nuclear-antibodies with this information?  I believe the fight for a diagnosis would have been easier.

Second, onto the real surprises.

 

Though I had a risk for lupus and developed a version of it, it was not my highest risk.

My highest risk factor was for multiple sclerosis.

In fact, my risk was 2.8 times higher than the average person which far exceeded my 1.2 times higher risk for lupus.

Without this information, I may potentially have disregarded future MS symptoms as mixed connective tissue disease progression and missed a vital diagnosis to prevent complications.

It wouldn’t even have been on my radar.  How can I advocate for myself when I don’t know what to watch for and be wary of?  I’ve said it before, information is what empowers the advocate and Futura Genetics is a big part of the information we need.

I also had a high risk for migraines and a very high risk for breast cancer.

Clearly, not having my family medical history means that I had no idea breast cancer was an issue.

Cadest-home-techn you imagine that spitting in a tube could possibly make the difference between a stage 1 and stage 4 diagnosis because I now know to be on the lookout for breast cancer?

I’m not saying that knowing your risk for a disease can prevent or fix it, but I do believe that knowing your risk for a disease empowers you to be a better advocate for yourself and for a better chance at diagnosis.

Futura Genetics is the answer to family medical history in a world where we are learning that genetic history matters more and more.

I am so grateful for the information this amazing company has provided me with such ease.  As an advocate and chronic illness patient, I cannot express enough how vital these types of resources are to our efforts at changing the way patients look for diagnoses and treatments.

If you have questions or gaps about your propensity to develop certain diseases and the lifestyle choices that could be putting you at risk order your DNA test kit today and find the answers you’ve been searching for.

1 thought on “Filling In Family Medical History with FUTURA GENETICS”

Leave a Reply

